Kirsten Childs and Martyna Majok win DG Awards

Kirsten Childs has won the 2022 Flora Roberts Award and Martyna Majok has won the 2022 Hull-Warriner Award.

kirsten_childs and martyna_majok
Kirsten Childs and Martyna Majok

New York, NY – The Dramatists Guild of America is proud to announce the first recipients of their 2022 Awards.

Kirsten Childs has won the 2022 Flora Roberts Award, which is administered by the Dramatists Guild Foundation. The award is presented to a dramatist in recognition of distinguished work in the theatre, with the intention of encouraging the continuation of that work.

Martyna Mayok has won the 2022 Hull-Warriner Award for her play Sanctuary City. The Hull-Warriner Award is the only award given by dramatists to dramatists; it is presented annually by the Dramatists Guild Council to an author or team of authors in recognition of their play dealing with controversial subjects involving the fields of political, religious, or social mores of the times.

The finalists for this year’s Hull-Warriner Award are Where We Stand by Donnetta Lavinia Grays; All the Natalie Portmans by C.A. Johnson; Selling Kabul by Sylvia Khoury; Suicide Forest by Haruna Lee and Endlings by Celine Song.

This year's recipients for the Dramatists Guild’s other awards, including The Horton Foote Award, The Frederick Loewe Award, the DLDF Defender Award and The Lanford Wilson Award, will be announced at a later date.

The awards will be presented at a ceremony on Monday, July 25, at Joe’s Pub. In addition to celebrating the 2022 recipients of the Dramatists Guild’s Awards, the recipients of the 2021 awards will also be honored.

The recipients of the 2021 Dramatists Guild Awards include Sharai Bohannon, who received the DLDF Defender Award, William S. Yellow Robe, Jr., who received the Flora Roberts Award, and Maria Bazeed and Rhiana Yazzie, who both received the Lanford Wilson Prize. The Horton Foote Award was shared by Carla Ching, Kia Corthron, Aleshea Harris, Donja R. Love, and Mfoniso Udofia. The Dramatists Guild also gave out a Lifetime Achievement Award to Adrienne Kennedy