cover art of The Reality Check Issue: A solemn playwright with a long, winding sweater sleeve that has small illustrations detailing the struggles of a writer.
Guild News – September/October 2018
a bullhorn making noise

Topher Payne Inducted into Georgia Theatre Hall of Fame

The Georgia Theatre Conference announced that DG Member Topher Payne will be inducted into the Georgia Theatre Hall of Fame, alongside DG Members Lauren Gunderson (2017 inductee) and Mark Costello (2009 inductee). The Georgia Theatre Hall of Fame was founded to celebrate “working professionals and educators who have made a significant impact to theatre and or/theatre education in Georgia and the US, and who have ties to the state of Georgia.”

Guild Members at the O’Neill Conference

The Eugene O’Neill Theater Center announced the plays and musicals selected for development at the National Playwrights Conference and the National Music Theater Conference. Selected works included The Family Resemblance by Masi Asare; Teeth, book and lyrics by Michael R. Jackson, book and music by Anna K. Jacobs; Lightning by Beth Henley; #NOWALL by Benjamin BenneLockdown by Cori Thomas; The Forest by Lia Romeo; Slave Play by Jeremy O. Harris; and Marvel-ous Monica; In Which Monica Lewinsky is a Superhero Hell-Bent on Revenge by Sarah Tuft.

The Dramatists Guild in London

The Dramatists Guild is packing its bags and heading to London October 20-27 2018. We will be hosting a town hall for local playwrights and DG members, Deborah Murad will give her popular presentation on Devised Theatre, and much more! Watch your email for more details and let us know if you’re going to be there!

Awards Night at the Dramatists Guild National Conference

On July 28, 2018, the Dramatists Guild held its annual Awards Night in the Trianon Ballroom at the Midtown Hilton Hotel in New York City.

The evening’s honors included the Horton Foote Award, presented to James Anthony Tyler; the Frederick Loewe Award, presented to Kirsten Childs; the Lanford Wilson Award, presented to Isaac Gomez and R. Eric Thomas; the Flora Roberts Award, presented to Charles Busch; and the Hull-Warriner Award, presented to Jocelyn Bioh. Former NEA Chair Jane Chu was awarded an honorary lifetime membership to the Guild for her outstanding work.

The Dramatists Legal Defense Fund [] also presented the DLDF Defender Award to Sawyer Garrity and Andrea Peña, students from Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School. In response to the brutal school shooting at Stoneman Douglas on Valentine’s Day in 2018, Garrity and Peña penned the anthem “Shine.”

Thanks to the proceeds received through their song, and with the help of their parents and other amazing people, they started a non-profit “Shine MSD,” to give their community the opportunity that “Shine” gave them—healing through the arts. To learn more about Shine MSD and support their organization, please visit their website.