Gloria Majule to Receive The Leah 2023
  • Gloria Majule
    Gloria Majule
  • Leah Ryan
    Leah Ryan

Poughkeepsie, NY – Leah Ryan’s Fund for Emerging Women Writers has announced its 2023 recipient of The Leah as Gloria Majule for her play Culture Shock. The play will have a public reading during Vassar College’s Powerhouse Theater Season (June 25-July 30) on their campus in Poughkeepsie, NY on July 1. 

This year’s honorable mentions include Carolina Đỗ’s ĂN CHƠI: eat. play. rage. (A don’t fuck with the weekend shift play) and to Daria Marinelli’s Beautiful Blessed Child.

The Leah was established in 2010 to honor the memory of Leah Ryan and to encourage and support the work of brilliant and unrecognized playwrights. It is the purpose of the prize to perpetuate the integrity, compassion, and creativity that Leah herself possessed and inspired in others. Winners receive a cash award and a New York City showcase of their winning work. The prize has been a springboard for winners who have subsequently won other competitions and/or have had fully-staged productions of their work.