Glen Ballard Among 2023 Songwriters Hall of Fame Inductees
Glen Ballard

New York, NY – The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced that Dramatists Guild member Glen Ballard, along with Sade Adu p/k/a Sade, Calvin Broadus, Jr. p/k/a Snoop Dogg, Gloria Estefan, Jeff Lynne, Teddy Riley, and Liz Rose will be the organization’s 52nd annual inductees.

Songwriter, lyricist, and record producer Glen Ballard is perhaps best known for co-writing and producing Alanis Morissette’s 1995 album Jagged Little Pill, which inspired a jukebox musical of the same name. The show, featuring a book by Diablo Cody, additional music by Michael Farrell and Guy Sigsworth, and orchestrations by Tom Kitt, premiered at the American Repertory Theater in May 2018 and transferred to Broadway in November 2019. 

Mr. Ballard also co-wrote the music and lyrics for Ghost the Musical with David A. Stewart and featuring a book by Bruce Joel Rubin. The musical opened in London’s West End in July 2011 and transferred to Broadway in April 2012.

Of the 2023 inductees, SHOF Chairman Nile Rodgers said, “The music industry does not exist without songwriters delivering great songs first. Without them there is no recorded music, no concert business, no merch...nothing, it all starts with the song and the songwriter. We are therefore very proud that we are continually recognizing some of the culturally most important songwriters of all time and that the 2023 slate represents not just iconic songs but also diversity and unity across genres, ethnicity, and gender, songwriters who have enriched our lives and, in their time, literally transformed music and the lives of billions of listeners all over the world.”