Announcing 66th Obie Award Winners
L-R: Martyna Majok, James Ijames, Jeremy O. Harris, Shaina Taub, Sarah Gancher
DG Members Receive 2020-2022 Obie Awards. L-R: Martyna Majok, James Ijames, Jeremy O. Harris, Shaina Taub, Sarah Gancher.

New York, NY – The 66th Obie Awards, celebrating the past three off-Broadway and off-off Broadway seasons, will be held tonight, February 27, at Terminal 5 in New York, NY. The evening, hosted by Crystal Lucas-Perry, honors theatrical work from 2020-2022 and is presented by the American Theatre Wing.

“We are beyond thrilled to announce the 37 awards selected by the Obie judges to be celebrated at the 66th Obie Awards on Monday evening,” said Wing President and CEO Heather Hitchens in a statement. “For this Obies, the judges reviewed over 400 productions over the last three seasons including digital and audio works made during the pandemic. We look forward to finally gathering in person to celebrate the artistic excellence and resilience of the amazing artists and theatre companies that make up the Off- and Off-Off- Broadway community.”

2020-2022 Obie Award Winners

Best New American Play
Sanaz Toossi, English (Atlantic Theater Company and Roundabout Theatre Company)

Martyna Majok, Sanctuary City (New York Theatre Workshop - NYTW)

Taylor Reynolds, Man Cave (Page 73) and Tambo & Bones (Playwrights Horizons)
Awoye Timpo, Wedding Band (TFNA) and her work as founder of Classix
Matt Ray (Music Direction and Composition) The Hang (HERE)

Sustained Achievement In Directing 
Saheem Ali, Nollywood Dreams (MCC); Merry Wives (Public Theater); Romeo y Julieta (Public Theater); and Fat Ham (Public Theater | National Black Theatre - NBT)
David Brimmer, Wolf Play (Soho Rep)

Stephanie Berry and Lizan Mitchell, On Sugarland (NYTW)
Brittany Bradford, Wedding Band (Theatre For a New Audience)
Kara Young, Twelfth Night (Classical Theatre of Harlem)
Arturo Luís Soria, Ni Mi Madre (Rattlestick)

Sustained Achievement In Performance 
Billy Eugene Jones, On Sugarland (NYTW) and Fat Ham (Public Theater)
Andrea Patterson, Cullud Wattah (Public Theater); Confederates (Signature); and Seize the King (Classical Theatre of Harlem)

Reza Behjat (Lighting Design), English (Atlantic Theater Company) and Wish You Were Here (Playwrights Horizons)

Sustained Achievement in Design 
Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew (Lighting Design), Cullud Wattah (Public Theater); Oratorio for Living Things (Ars Nova); The Nosebleed (Lincoln Center Theater); Golden Shield (MTC); Snow in Midsummer (CSC); Fairycakes (Greenwich House); and What You Are Now (EST
Nikiya Mathis (Hair and Wig Design), Nollywood Dreams (MTC)
Machine Dazzle (Set and Costume Designer)

Special Citations
Heather Christian (Composer, Vocal Arrangements, Orchestration); Ben Moss (Music Director, Orchestration); Nick Kourtides (Sound Design); and the musical team of Oratorio For Living Things (Ars Nova)

Creative Team and Ensemble of Fat Ham (Public Theater) James Ijames (Playwright); Saheem Ali (Director); Maruti Evans (Set Design); Dominique Fawn Hill (Costume Design); Stacey Derosier (Lighting Designer); Mikaal Sulaiman (Sound Design); Darrell Grand Moultrie (Choreographer); Earon Chew Nealey (Hair and Wig Design); Skylar Fox (Illusions Design); Nikki Crawford, Chris Herbie Holland, Billy Eugene Jones, Adrianna Mitchell, Calvin Leon Smith, Marcel Spears, and Benja Kay Thomas (ensemble)

Creative Team and Ensemble of English (Atlantic Theater Company) Knud Adams (Directing); Marsha Ginsberg (Set Design); Enver Chakartash (Costume Design); Reza Behjat (Lighting Design); Sinan Refik Zafar (Sound Design); Tala Ashe, Ava Lalezarzadeh, Pooya Mohseni, Marjan Neshat, and Hadi Tabbal (Ensemble)

Aya Ogawa (Creator, Writer, Director) for The Nosebleed (Lincoln Center Theater | Japan Society)

Qween Jean (Costume Designer) for Corsicana (Playwrights Horizons), Soft (MCC), Wedding Band (TFNA), Black No More (The New Group), The Fever (Audible | The New Group), What To Send Up When it Goes Down (Playwrights Horizons), and Semblance (NYTW)

Digital+Virtual+Hybrid Production: Michael Breslin, Patrick Foley, Ariel Sibert, Cat Rodríguez, and Rory Pelsue (Creators, Writers, Director) in collaboration with David Bengali (Video Designer) Circle Jerk (Fake Friends and Jeremy O. Harris)

Laurie Woolery (Director) and Shaina Taub (Music and Lyrics) for their collaboration in the adaptation of As You Like It (Public Theater)

Alex Edelman (Creator and Performer), Just For Us (Mike Birbiglia | Greenwich House)

Digital+Virtual+Hybrid Production: Modesto Flako Jimenez (Creator and Writer) Taxilandia (Oye Group | NYTW | Bushwick Starr | The Tank)

Digital+Virtual+Hybrid Production: Sarah Gancher (Writer), Jared Mezzocchi and Elizabeth Williamson (Directors), Russian Troll Farm (The Civilians, Theater Works Hartford, and TheatreSquared)

Richard Nelson (Playwright), for the completion and producing of The Rhinebeck Panorama

Lifetime Achievement 
Ping Chong (Director, Choreographer, Video + Installation Artist, and Founder of Ping Chong and Company)
Anne Bogart (Director and co-Founder of SITI Company)
Ralph Lee and Casey Compton (Artistic and Managing Director, Mettawee River Theatre Company)

Theatre Companies
The Sol Project
Theatre in Quarantine
See Lighting Foundation
Anticapitalism for Artists

Ross Wetzsteon Award 
Classical Theatre of Harlem

Michael Feingold Award
Maestra Music

The 2023 awards are co-chaired by Obie-winning director and producing artistic leader David Mendizábal and theatre critic Melissa Rose Bernardo. The judges’ panel includes actor and fight choreographer Dave Anzuelo, scenic designer Wilson Chin, Obie-winning playwright Haruna Lee, Obie-winning director and playwright Lisa Peterson, and Obie-winning actor Heather Alicia Simms.