Announcing 39th Annual Lucille Lortel Awards Recipients
Branden Jacobs-Jenkins
Dramatists Guild Vice President Branden Jacobs-Jenkins was announced as the recipient of the 2024 Lucille Lortel Award for Outstanding Play.

New York, NY – The 2024 Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway were announced last night to recipients in sixteen categories, with three honorary awards also bestowed. The Awards were distributed in a ceremony at NYU Skirball hosted by stars of stage and screen: Rosalind Chao (Atlantic Theater Company’s What Became of Us), Jenn Colella (SUFFS), Michael Esper (Drama Desk Award nominee, Appropriate), Eden Espinosa(Tony Award nominee, Lempicka), Nikki M. James (Tony & Lortel Award nominee, SUFFS), and BD Wong (Atlantic Theater Company’s What Became of Us). The Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by the Off-Broadway League and Lucille Lortel Theatre, with additional support provided by TDF.


[* denotes a Dramatists Guild member]


*** The Comeuppance by Branden Jacobs-Jenkins*
Produced by Signature Theatre

Plays For The Plague Year by Suzan-Lori Parks
Produced by The Public Theater
Primary Trust by Eboni Booth*
Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company

Stereophonic by David Adjmi*
Produced by Playwrights Horizons

Wet Brain by John J. Caswell, Jr.
Produced by Playwrights Horizons and MCC Theater


*** (pray)
Created by nicHi douglas, with music by S T A R R Busby and JJJJJerome Ellis
Produced by Ars Nova and National Black Theatre

Buena Vista Social Club
Book by Marco Ramirez, Music by Buena Vista Social Club
Produced by Atlantic Theater Company

Dead Outlaw
Music and Lyrics by David Yazbek & Erik Della Penna, Book by Itamar Moses*, Conceived by David Yazbek
Produced by Audible Theater

Hell’s Kitchen
Music and Lyrics by Alicia Keys, Book by Kristoffer Diaz*
Produced by The Public Theater

Book and Music by Anna K. Jacobs*, Book and Lyrics by Michael R. Jackson*
Produced by Playwrights Horizons

Outstanding Revival 

Danny and the Deep Blue Sea
Written by John Patrick Shanley*
Produced by Play Hooky Productions, Seaview, Sue Wagner, John Johnson, Jayne Baron Sherman, Stella La Rue, Roth-Manella Productions, Sony Music Masterworks, Jillian Robbins, David Binder, Folk Productions, Antonio Marion, Daniel Schwartz, Wessex Grove, Stephanie Choate, Hillary Wyatt

I Can Get It for You Wholesale
Book by Jerome Weidman (based on his novel), Music and Lyrics by Harold Rome, Book revisions by John Weidman*
Produced by Classic Stage Company

Philadelphia, Here I Come!
Written by Brian Friel
Produced by Irish Repertory Theatre Company

Sunset Baby
Written by Dominique Morisseau
Produced by Signature Theatre Company

*** Translations
Written by Brian Friel
Produced by Irish Repertory Theatre

Outstanding Solo Show

*** All The Devils Are Here - How Shakespeare Invented the Villain
Written and Performed by Patrick Page
Produced by Mara Isaacs, Thomas M. Neff, Willette and Manny Klausner, 42nd.Club, Daryl Roth

I Love You So Much I Could Die
Written and Performed by Mona Pirnot
Produced by New York Theatre Workshop

Make Me Gorgeous!
Written by Donnie*, Additional Material by Wade McCollum
Performed by Wade McCollum
Produced by triangle productions!

Sorry For Your Loss
Written and Performed by Michael Cruz Kayne
Produced by Audible

Triple Threat
Written and Performed by James T. Lane*    
Produced by Brendan Gaul, Brett Henenberg, James T. Lane, and T32 Theatrical                                                 

Outstanding Director

Daniel Aukin – Stereophonic
David Cromer – Dead Outlaw
*** nicHi douglas – (pray)
Eric Ting – The Comeuppance
Dustin Wills – Wet Brain

Outstanding Choreographer

Camille A. Brown – Hell’s Kitchen
Graciela Daniele and Alex Sanchez – The Gardens of Anuncia
*** Patricia Delgado and Justin Peck – Buena Vista Social Club
nicHi douglas – (pray)
Raja Feather Kelly – Teeth

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Play

Christopher Abbott – Danny and the Deep Blue Sea
*** Gabby Beans – Jonah
William Jackson Harper – Primary Trust
Nicole Ari Parker – The Refuge Plays
Josh Radnor – The Ally
A.J. Shively – Philadelphia, Here I Come!
Paco Tolson – The Knight of the Burning Pestle

Outstanding Featured Performer in a Play

Arnie Burton – Dracula, A Comedy of Terrors
*** Eli Gelb – Stereophonic
Carmen M. Herlihy – The Apiary
Florencia Lozano – Wet Brain
Julio Monge – Wet Brain
Bubba Weiler – Swing State
Frank Wood – Toros

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Musical 

*** Natalie Venetia Belcon – Buena Vista Social Club
Jeb Brown – Dead Outlaw
Andrew Durand – Dead Outlaw
Santino Fontana – I Can Get It for You Wholesale
Priscilla Lopez – The Gardens of Anuncia
Alyse Alan Louis – Teeth
Maleah Joi Moon – Hell’s Kitchen

Outstanding Featured Performer in a Musical 

Shoshana Bean – Hell’s Kitchen
Rodrick Covington – Rock & Roll Man
*** Kecia Lewis – Hell’s Kitchen
Jessica Molaskey – The Connector
Steven Pasquale – Teeth
Mel Semé – Buena Vista Social Club
Thom Sesma – Dead Outlaw
Outstanding Ensemble 

*** (pray)
Ariel Kayla Blackwood, S T A R R Busby, Ashely De La Rosa, Tina Fabrique, Satori Folkes-Stone, Amara Granderson, Taylor Symone Jackson, Ziiomi Louise Law, Aigner Mizzelle, Gayle Turner, Darnell White, D. Woods

The Comeuppance
Brittany Bradford, Caleb Eberhardt, Susannah Flood, Bobby Moreno, Shannon Tyo

Brittany Bellizeare, Christiana Clark, Eboni Edwards, Renita Lewis, Erica Matthews, Ciara Monique, Tamera Tomakili
Outstanding Scenic Design 

Jason Ardizzone-West – shadow/land
Arnulfo Maldonado – Buena Vista Social Club
Arnulfo Maldonado – Dead Outlaw
*** Kate Noll – Wet Brain
David Zinn – Stereophonic
Outstanding Costume Design 

Dede Ayite – Buena Vista Social Club
Enver Chakartash – Stereophonic
Linda Cho – The Half-God of Rainfall
DeShon Elem – (pray)
*** Lux Haac – Manahatta
Outstanding Lighting Design 

*** Amith Chandrashaker – The Comeuppance
Jiyoun Chang – Stereophonic
Jen Schriever – Spain
Cha See – Wet Brain
John Torres – Danny and the Deep Blue Sea
Outstanding Sound Design 

Tei Blow & John Gasper – Wet Brain
Jonathan Deans – Buena Vista Social Club
Palmer Hefferan – The Comeuppance
*** Ryan Rumery – Stereophonic
Mikaal Sulaiman – (pray)
Outstanding Projection Design 

59 Productions – Corruption
*** Nick Hussong – Wet Brain
Jared Mezzocchi – Poor Yella Rednecks
Jared Mezzocchi – Russian Troll Farm
Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew – The Connector

Lifetime Achievement Award
Ruben Santiago-Hudson
Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee
Dominique Morisseau
Outstanding Body of Work
Ars Nova