Announcing 2023 Steinberg Playwright Awards
Mona Mansour and Martyna Majok (left to right)

NEW YORK, NY— The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust has named Martyna Majok and Mona Mansour as the recipients of the 2023 Steinberg Awards, also called the “Mimi”  awards. 

The “Mimi” Awards were created to honor early-to-mid-career playwrights for their outstanding artistry and accomplishments annually. The award celebrates their individual and compelling voice and honors the direction they guide American theatre. 

“This honor is genuinely life-changing. I’m grateful beyond measure for the artistic possibilities this award gifts me and the drive it's strengthened in me to continue telling stories.  To be included in this extraordinary company of inspiring playwrights, these great creators of the American Theatre, is overwhelmingly humbling,” said Majok in a statement. “Thank you with all my heart to the Steinberg Charitable Trust for their incredible commitment to our art form — and for their immensely generous belief in me. I'm still reeling and occasionally weeping with gratitude.” 

“It’s with enormous gratitude that I thank the Steinberg Trust for this honor they’ve granted me for my work,” added Mansour. “In the midst of a highly unstable time in theatre, this award comes as an enormous gift. I’m deeply grateful to the selection committee for giving me the chance to continue to dream up worlds, to follow my curiosity wherever it takes me — to the Middle East and beyond.  It’s an honor to join the esteemed list of diverse and talented artists who’ve received this award.”