American Theatre Wing Announces Recipients of 2024 Obie Awards
Hansol Jung, Bruce Norris
DG members Hansol Jung and Bruce Norris are among this year‘s Obie Award recipients.

New York, NY – The American Theatre Wing, along with Spectrum News NY1, announced the recipients of the 67th Annual Obie Awards. The winners of this year’s awards are:
* denotes Dramatists Guild member 



  • Dustin Wills, Montag (Soho Rep), Wet Brain (Playwrights Horizons and MCC Theater), and Wolf Play (MCC Theater | Soho Rep | Ma-Yi Theater Company)
  • Shayok Misha Chowdhury, Public Obscenities (Soho Rep | National Asian American Theatre Company
  • Faye Driscoll, Weathering (New York Live Arts) 




  • Shannon TyoThe Comeuppance (Signature Theatre Company), The Far Country (Atlantic Theater Company), and Regretfully, So The Birds Are (Playwrights Horizons | WP Theater)
  • John Douglas Thompson, Endgame (Irish Repertory Theatre) and Hamlet (The Public Theater)
  • K. Todd Freeman, Downstate (Playwrights Horizons)


  • Enver Chakartash (Costumes), Public Obscenities (Soho Rep | National Asian American Theatre Company), Toros (Second Stage Theater), The Trees (Playwrights Horizons | Page 73), Wolf Play (MCC Theater | Soho Rep | Ma-Yi Theater Company), Catch As Catch Can (Playwrights Horizons), and I’m Revolting (Atlantic Theater Company)
  • Barbara Samuels (Lights), Public Obscenities (Soho Rep | National Asian American Theatre Company), Wolf Play (MCC Theater | Soho Rep | Ma-Yi Theater Company), Becky Nurse of Salem (Lincoln Center Theater), and Toros (Second Stage Theater)


  • dots (Sets) Collective: Santiago Orjuela-Laverde, Andrew Moerdyk, and Kimie Nishikawa, Public Obscenities (Soho Rep | National Asian American Theatre Company), Dark Disabled Stories (The Bushwick Starr | The Public Theater), Events (The Hearth Theater Company), Infinite Life (Atlantic Theater Company), Deep Blue Sound (Clubbed Thumb), and Grief Hotel (Clubbed Thumb)
  • Mikaal Sulaiman (Sound)The Half God of Rainfall (New York Theatre Workshop), Primary Trust (Roundabout Theatre), Des Moines (Theatre For A New Audience), Evanston Salt Costs Climbing (The New Group)


  • Ensemble of Dark Disabled Stories (The Bushwick Starr | The Public Theater) Ryan J. Haddad, Dickie Hearts, and Alejandra Ospina
  • Design Team of Wet Brain (Playwrights Horizon | MCC Theater): Kate Noll (Set), Cha See (Lights), Haydee Zelideth Antuñano (Costumes), Tei Blow (Co-Sound), John Gasper (Co-Sound), and Nick Hussong (Projections)
  • Ensemble of The Comeuppance (Signature Theatre Company) Brittany Bradford, Caleb Eberhardt, Susannah Flood, Bobby Moreno, and Shannon Tyo
  • Liza Birkenmeier (Writer) and Tara Ahmadinejad (Director) of Grief Hotel (Clubbed Thumb)
  • Lead Actors of Montag (Soho Rep) Ariana Venturi and Nadine Malouf
  • Intimacy Coordinators of Color and Ann C. James (Founder and Mentor)


  • Peggy Shaw and Lois Weaver (writing and performing duo of Split Britches)
  • Carole Rothman (Co-Founder and Artistic Director of Second Stage)


  • Breaking the Binary Theatre Company
  • Dominican Artists Collective (DAC)
  • The Brick


  • Under the Radar Festival (Mark Russell as Founder)


  • Andrew Morrill for their work as Director of Artistic Sign Language and Alison Kopit for Access Dramaturgy of Dark Disabled Stories (The Bushwick Starr | The Public Theater)

Rather than holding an awards ceremony, the American Theatre Wing will instead direct funds to the support and growth of the artists by awarding winners with grants ranging from $1,000-5,000.   The 67th Obie Awards recognizes the outstanding contributions made throughout the 2022-2023 Off- and Off- Off-Broadway theatre season in New York City. The Obie Judges Committee includes Obie-winning and Tony Award-nominated costume designer Dede Ayite; acclaimed scenic designer Wilson Chin; writer and Grammy Award winner Ty Defoe*; Broadway’s first Black intimacy coordinator & Obie Award winner Ann C. James; Obie Award-winning playwright Haruna Lee; actor, writer and performance artist Florencia Lozano; and Obie Award-winning performance artist Carmelita Tropicana*; and is co-chaired by Obie-winning director David Mendizábal and veteran theater critic Melissa Rose Bernardo. The judges thoroughly evaluated over 300 productions, engaged in thoughtful discussions, and, through their votes, selected the recipients.   “We are truly excited about this next iteration of The Obies because it genuinely reflects the ethos of the Awards as well as the Off- & Off-Off-Broadway movements – which is to continuously evolve and meet the moment,” says Heather Hitchens. “The grants and our relationship with Spectrum News NY1 will provide meaningful support, and more effective, nationwide promotion for these incredible artists, innovators, and theater companies.”   The official 67th Obie Awards season includes shows that opened between September 1, 2022, through August 31, 2023. Work that was presented at an Off- or Off-Off-Broadway theater and/or company was eligible for consideration. The full list of winners, as well as their recorded acceptance speeches, is now available on  The Village Voice created The Obie Awards, at the suggestion of then editor Jerry Tallmer, soon after the publication’s own inception in 1955, to encourage the newly burgeoning Off-Broadway theater movement and to acknowledge its achievements. The Obies are structured with informal categories to recognize artists and productions worthy of distinction in each theatrical year. Over the decades, The Obie Awards played a major role in championing work of innovative and exceptional quality Off- and Off-Off Broadway. The Obies have become a theatrical tradition, a meaningful way to acknowledge the best artistic achievements of downtown theater. The list of actors, writers, directors, and designers who have received Obies at pivotal moments in their careers is a virtual who’s who of contemporary theater. While the categories of the awards have continued to change almost annually, the creative spirit remains the same. The Obie Awards, now presented by The American Theatre Wing, salute a theatrical movement that’s as important and as vibrant today as it was in 1955.