38th Annual Lucille Lortel Award Nominations
Ntozake Shange
2023 Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee Ntozake Shange

New York, NY – Nominations have been announced for the 38th Annual Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway. The 2023 Awards will be presented on Sunday, May 7, 2023, at NYU Skirball beginning at 7:00 pm. The event will be open to the public, with tickets available for purchase at tickets.nyu.edu or at the NYU Skirball box office Tuesday-Saturday 12 pm-6 pm. As always, the Lortel Awards is a benefit for the Entertainment Community Fund and fans are encouraged to make donations at LortelAward.com. The Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by the Off-Broadway League and Lucille Lortel Theatre, with additional support provided by TDF.


Outstanding Play

A Case for the Existence of God by Samuel D. Hunter
Produced by Signature Theatre

Dark Disabled Stories by Ryan J. Haddad
Produced by The Bushwick Starr, presented by The Public Theater

Downstate by Bruce Norris
Produced by Playwrights Horizons

Epiphany by Brian Watkins
Produced by Lincoln Center Theater/LCT3

Wolf Play by Hansol Jung
Produced by MCC Theater, a Soho Rep production, in collaboration with Ma-Yi Theater Company

Outstanding Musical

Dreaming Zenzile by Somi Kakoma
Produced by New York Theatre Workshop & National Black Theatre

Harmony, music by Barry Manilow, book and lyrics by Bruce Sussman
Produced by National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene in association with Ken Davenport & Sandi Moran, Garry C. Kief, Amuse Inc., Patty Baker, Tom & Michael D’Angora, Susan DuBow, Michelle Kaplan, Mapleseed Productions, Harold Matzner, and Neil Gooding Productions

SUFFS, book, music, and lyrics by Shaina Taub
Produced by The Public Theater

Titaníque, book by Marla Mindelle, Constantine Rousouli, and Tye Blue, music by Various Authors
Produced by Eva Price, James L. Nederlander, Diamond Dog Entertainment LLC, Benj Pasek, Blumenthal Performing Arts, Penny Rousouli, Jodi & Howard Tenenbaum, Philip Byron, Marcia Ellis, Iris Smith, and Stellar Live, Inc.

Weightless by The Kilbanes
Produced by WP Theater

Outstanding Revival

A Bright New Boise by Samuel D. Hunter
Produced by Signature Theatre

Endgame by Samuel Beckett
Produced by Irish Repertory Theatre Company

A Man of No Importance, book by Terrence McNally, music by Stephen Flaherty, lyrics by Lynn Ahrens
Produced by Classic Stage Company

Merrily We Roll Along, book by George Furth, music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim
Produced by New York Theatre Workshop

A Raisin in the Sun by Lorraine Hansberry
Produced by The Public Theater

Outstanding Director

Zi Alikhan – On That Day in Amsterdam

David Cromer – A Case for the Existence of God

Robert O’Hara – A Raisin in the Sun

Whitney White – soft

Dustin Wills – Wolf Play

Outstanding Choreographer

Andy Blankenbuehler – Only Gold

Warren Carlyle – Harmony

Edgar Godineaux – The Harder They Come

Jerry Mitchell – Kinky Boots

Ellenore Scott – Titaníque

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Play

Kyle Beltran – A Case For the Existence of God

Marylouise Burke – Epiphany

K. Todd Freeman – Downstate

Ryan J. Haddad – Dark Disabled Stories

Bill Irwin – Endgame

Tonya Pinkins – A Raisin in the Sun

John Douglas Thompson – Endgame

Outstanding Featured Performer in a Play

Mia Barron – The Coast Starlight

Susanna Guzman – Downstate

Ryan J. Haddad – american (tele)visions

Dickie Hearts – Dark Disabled Stories

Patrice Johnson Chevannes – Endgame

Maureen Sebastian – The Best We Could (a family tragedy)

Eddie Torres – Downstate

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Musical

Nicholas Barasch – The Butcher Boy

Callum Francis – Kinky Boots

Natey Jones – The Harder They Come

Somi Kakoma – Dreaming Zenzile

Lindsay Mendez – Merrily We Roll Along

Marla Mindelle – Titaníque

Jim Parsons – A Man of No Importance

Outstanding Featured Performer in a Musical

Krystal Joy Brown – Merrily We Roll Along

Darren Goldstein – The Bedwetter

Nikki M. James – SUFFS

Jacob Ming-Trent – The Harder They Come

John Riddle – Titaníque

Reg Rogers – Merrily We Roll Along

A.J. Shively – A Man of No Importance

Outstanding Ensemble

The Nosebleed
Drae Campbell, Ashil Lee, Chris Manley, Aya Ogawa, Saori Tsukada, Kaili Y. Turner

Leon Addison Brown, Biko Eisen-Martin, Dharon Jones, Essence Lotus, Travis Raeburn, Shakur Tolliver, Dario Vazquez, Ed Ventura

Wolf Play
Christopher Bannow, Esco Jouléy, Brian Quijada, Nicole Villamil, Mitchell Winter

Outstanding Scenic Design

John Lee Beatty – Epiphany

You-Shin Chen – Wolf Play

dots – You Will Get Sick

Arnulfo Maldonado – A Case for the Existence of God

Clint Ramos – The Far Country

Outstanding Costume Design

Enver Chakartash – THE TREES

Sarah Laux – Wish You Were Here

Orla Long – Endgame

Qween Jean – Soft

Alejo Vietti – Titaníque

Outstanding Lighting Design

Isabella Byrd – Epiphany

Jiyoun Chang – The Far Country

Tyler Micoleau – A Case for the Existence of God

Barbara Samuels – Wolf Play

Cha See – On That Day in Amsterdam

Outstanding Sound Design

Mikhail Fiksel – How To Defend Yourself

Daniel Kluger – Epiphany

Kate Marvin – Wolf Play

Theater Mitu – american (tele)visions

Sinan Refik Zafar – LETTERS FROM MAX, a ritual

Outstanding Projection Design

Alex Basco Koch – The Orchard

Yee Eun Nam – ONCE UPON A (korean) TIME

Kameron Neal – Dark Disabled Stories

Theater Mitu – american (tele)visions

S Katy Tucker – LETTERS FROM MAX, a ritual


Lifetime Achievement Award – Stephen McKinley Henderson

Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee – Ntozake Shange

Body of Work – A.R.T./New York