2022 Lucille Lortel Awards Nominations
lucille lortel awards

Nominees for the 37th annual Lucille Lortel Awards, produced by the Off-Broadway League and Lucille Lortel Theatre, with additional support provided by TDF, were announced yesterday, April 7, 2022. Among the nominees are the following Guild members:

Outstanding Play

Coal Country by Jessica Blank and  Erik Jensen, produced by Audible and The Public Theater
Letters of Suresh by Rajiv Joseph, produced by Second Stage Theater
On Sugarland by Aleshea Harris, produced by New York Theatre Workshop
Prayer for the French Republic by Joshua Harmon, produced by Manhattan Theatre Club

Outstanding Musical

Black No More, book by John Ridley, lyrics by Tariq Trotter, music by Tariq Trotter, Anthony Tidd, James Poyser, and Daryl Waters, produced by The New Group
Intimate Apparel, music by Ricky Ian Gordon, libretto by Lynn Nottage, produced by Lincoln Center Theater
Kimberly Akimbo, book and lyrics by David Lindsay-Abaire, music by Jeanine Tesori, produced by Atlantic Theater Company

Outstanding Revival

Assassins, music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, book by John Weidman, from an idea by Charles Gilbert, Jr., produced by Classic Stage Company
The Chinese Lady by Lloyd Suh, produced by Ma-Yi Theater Company

Outstanding Solo Show

Little Girl Blue, written by Laiona Michelle, additional materials by Devanand Janki, music and lyrics by various composers, produced by Rashad V. Chambers, Willette & Manny Klausner, E. Clayton Cornelious/Joshua Morgan, Victoria Bondoc, McCabe Productions LLC, Live & In Color

Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee

David Henry Hwang

The Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway were created in 1985 by the Off-Broadway League. The Lortel Awards recognize excellence in Off-Broadway by honoring the invaluable contribution of artists to the theatre community.