2021-2022 Outer Critics Circle Award Winners Announced
Outer Critics Circle Logo

May 17, 2022 – The Guild congratulates the nominees and winners of the 71st Annual Outer Critics Circle Awards, which honor the 2021-2022 Broadway and off-Broadway season.

The OCC Awards will return to an in-person ceremony this year after the 2020 virtual honors. 2021-2022 winners will be honored on Thursday, May 26, 2022, at the Bruno Walter Auditorium of the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts at Lincoln Center.

Award winners are indicated with an asterisk.

2022 Outer Critics Circle Awards Nominees and Winners

The Marjorie Gunner Award for Outstanding New Broadway Musical
MJ the Musical, book by Lynn Nottage
Mr. Saturday Night, book by Billy Crystal, Lowell Ganz, and Babaloo Mandel, music by Jason Robert Brown, lyrics by Amanda Green
Mrs. Doubtfire, book by Karey Kirkpatrick and John O’Farrell, music and lyrics by Wayne Kirkpatrick and Karey Kirkpatrick
Paradise Square, book by Christina Anderson, Craig Lucas, and Larry Kirwan, music by Jason Howland, lyrics by Nathan Tysen and Masi Asare
* Six, book, music, and lyrics by Toby Marlow and Lucy Moss

OUTSTANDING New Broadway Play
Birthday Candles by Noah Haidle, Roundabout Theatre Company
Clyde’s by Lynn Nottage
Skeleton Crew by Dominique Morisseau, Manhattan Theatre Club
* The Lehman Trilogy by Stefano Massini, adapted by Ben Power
The Minutes by Tracy Letts, Studio 54

OUTSTANDING New Off-Broadway Musical
Black No More, book by John Ridley, music by Tariq Trotter, Anthony Tidd, James Poyster, and Daryl Waters, lyrics by Tariq Trotter, The New Group
Harmony, book by Bruce Sussman, music and lyrics by Barry Manilow, National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene
Intimate Apparel, libretto by Lynn Nottage, music by Ricky Ian Gordon, Lincoln Center Theater
* Kimberly Akimbo, book and lyrics by David Lindsay-Abaire, music by Jeanine TesoriAtlantic Theater Company
Little Girl Blue by Laiona Michelle, New World Stages

OUTSTANDING New Off-Broadway Play
Morning Sun by Simon Stephens, Manhattan Theatre Club
On Sugarland by Aleshea Harris, New York Theatre Workshop
* Prayer for the French Republic by Joshua Harmon, Manhattan Theatre Club
Sanctuary City by Martyna Majok, New York Theatre Workshop
The Chinese Lady by Lloyd Suh, The Public Theater

John Gassner Award (Presented to a new American Play, preferably by a new playwright)
Cullud Wattah by Erika Dickerson-Despenza, The Public Theater
* English by Sanaz Toossi, Atlantic Theater Company
Selling Kabul by Sylvia Khoury, Playwrights Horizons
Tambo and Bones by Dave Harris, Playwrights Horizons
Thoughts of a Colored Man by Keenan Scott II

Assassins music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, book by John Weidman, Classic Stage Company
Caroline, or Change book and lyrics by Tony Kushner, music by Jeanine Tesori, Roundabout Theatre Company
* Company, music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, book by George Furth
The Music Man, book, music, and lyrics by Meredith Willson
The Streets of New York by Dion Boucicault, adaptation and songs by Charlotte Moore, Irish Repertory Theatre

OUTSTANDING REVIVAL OF A Play (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf by Ntozake Shange
How I Learned to Drive by Paula Vogel, Manhattan Theatre Club
* Take Me Out by Richard Greenberg, Second Stage Theater
Trouble in Mind by Alice Childress, Roundabout Theatre Company

Billy Crystal, Lowell Ganz, and Babaloo Mandel, Mr. Saturday Night
Karey Kirkpatrick and John O’Farrell, Mrs. Doubtfire 
* David Lindsay-Abaire, Kimberly Akimbo, Atlantic Theater Company
Lynn Nottage, Intimate Apparel, Lincoln Center Theater
Bruce Sussman, Harmony, National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene

Jason Howland, Nathan Tysen, and Masi Asare, Paradise Square
Wayne Kirkpatrick and Karey Kirkpatrick, Mrs. Doubtfire
Barry Manilow and Bruck Sussman, Harmony, National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene
* Toby Marlow and Lucy Moss, Six
Jeanine Tesori and David Lindsay-Abaire, Kimberly Akimbo, Atlantic Theater Company

(Ed. Note: We acknowledge and congratulate these performers also wrote these shows.)
Alex Edelman, Just for Us, Cherry Lane Theatre
Arturo Luís Soria, Ni Mi Madre, Rattlestick Playwrights Theater
* Kristina Wong, Kristina Wong, Sweatshop Overlord, New York Theatre Workshop