Member Newsroom

What should I do if someone performs or changes a play, musical, or devised work without permission?

Your work cannot be performed without your permission. And it is never okay for someone to change your words, lyrics, or notes, without your approval.  This rule applies whether the desired alteration is a significant change to the text, such as rearranging scenes, adding lines, cutting an entire monologue, or removing an explicit word. It also applies to changing the setting or casting requirements. Casting requirements and settings are a part of an author’s work; if any defining...
Member Newsroom

2022 National Estate and Legacy Planning Awareness Week with DG©M

Join DG Copyright Management for National Estate and Legacy Planning Awareness Week 2022! Monday, October 17 - Sunday, October 23 Register Having a plan in place for the long-term care of your plays, songs, and musicals is the best way to ensure that your...
Member Newsroom

Free Rehearsal Space for Writers at the Dramatists Guild Foundation

The Dramatists Guild Foundation is now offering free space for playwrights, composers, lyricists, and librettists to use to rehearse, work, and collaborate! Three separate spaces (the Music Hall, the Composers Corner, and the Writers Den) are available for use, all of which are located at the Foundation's offices in midtown Manhattan. These spaces are open to all dramatists, regardless of DG membership status. Scroll down to discover the Foundation's three spaces for writers!...
Member Newsroom

Career Training: Learn to Use Final Draft® Scriptwriting Software

Learn how to use Final Draft® 12 scriptwriting software! Thursday, September 29 Atlantic Time: 8pm Eastern Time: 7pm Central Time: 6pm Mountain Time (D): 5pm Mountain Time (S): 4pm Pacific Time: 4pm Alaska Time: 3pm Hawaii Time: 1pm DG members are invited to a free training session to learn about the new features for dramatists that are now...
Member Newsroom

Career Alert: Are You Getting Produced in Your Area? A Call to Action from the Regional Affairs Committee

Back in January, the Regional Affairs committee hosted three Community Conversations that were open to all DG members. Participants met online to share discoveries, discuss concerns, and work to create meaningful change.  The Regional Affairs Committee is continuing the conversation now with a short questionnaire, based on common themes that emerged from these Community Conversations. The committee is looking to find out how and where your work is getting produced, if theatres in...
Member Newsroom

Career Alert: Copyright Registration of Single Authored Musicals

Recently, there has been some confusion over which copyright application to use when registering a single-authored musical work: the Single Application (with a $45 fee) or the Standard Application ($65). Upon review of the criteria, we have noted that eligibility for the Single Application requires the following: The registration must cover one work;  The work must be created by one individual;   All of the material contained within the work must be...
Member Newsroom

New Career Training Webinars Available to View Online

Did you miss our recent Copyright Clinic, Compensation Panels, Q&A with the Copyright Office, or our Bill of Rights workshop? These career-training and advocacy webinars are now all available for DG members to view on our website.   Do You Know Your Rights?: An Introduction to the Dramatist's Bill of Rights...
Member Newsroom

Where Should I File My Copyright Claim?

If you have a claim under copyright law, you may want to consider filing it with the Copyright Claims Board rather than in federal court. The Copyright Alternative in Small-Claims Enforcement (CASE) Act of 2020 is a recent federal law that established the Copyright Claims Board (“CCB”). The CCB is a voluntary arbitration procedure within the Copyright Office that offers copyright owners an alternative to bringing a claim in federal court.  Before the establishment of the CCB...
Member Newsroom

May Career Training Events: Production Compensation Panels

Join us for a series of Production Compensation Panels exploring commissions, production royalties, subsidiary markets, and more!   Friday, May 6 Production Compensation Part One: Advice for Theatre Writers on Commissions, Advances, Royalties from Theatrical Productions ...