SEARCH

News: Advocacy

Member Newsroom

Banned Theatre Week: Listen to Banned Together: An Anti-Censorship Theatre Podcast

Dramatists Legal Defense Fund (DLDF) and The Dramatists Guild announces the second edition of Banned Together: An Anti-Censorship Theatre Podcast. This year’s edition will feature two episodes, are available to stream on the Dramatists Legal Defense Fund's website. To raise awareness regarding the societal dangers of censorship in the theatre industry and at large, the Dramatists Guild will...
Member Newsroom

Discover Your Rights at DG's First Advocacy Night on October 26 in NYC

The Dramatists Guild is thrilled to announce the launch of a new series of Advocacy Nights. Beginning October 26, these free, monthly events will help theatre writers build community while learning about available resources and their rights in process and production. Thursday, October 26 7pm-9pm EDT Open Jar Studios 1601 Broadway, 11th floor New York, NY 10019 SPOTS ARE LIMITED. RESERVATION REQUIRED. ...
Member Newsroom

October Contract Bootcamps: The Model Premiere Production Agreement

What happens once you finally get a world premiere production of your play? Discover how to protect your work with the Guild's Model Premiere Production Agreement at our FREE, online contract bootcamp! Wednesday, October 11 and Thursday October 26 ADT: 4:30pm EDT/AST: 3:30pm CDT: 2:30pm MDT: 1:30pm PDT/MST: 12:30pm AKDT: 11:30am HST: 9:30am ...
Member Newsroom

Make Your Voice Heard! Share your thoughts on AI with the US Copyright Office

The U.S. Copyright Office is now accepting comments on artificial intelligence. The Office seeks comment on issues including: The use of copyrighted works to train Al models the legal status of Al-generated outputs The appropriate levels of transparency  Disclosure with respect to the use of copyrighted works We know our community has many thoughts on these issues. We invite you to make your voice heard by submitting a comment. Initial written...
Member Newsroom

Join DG Copyright Management for National Estate Planning Awareness Week from October 16 to October 20

This October, join DG Copyright Management, Inc. (DG©M) for National Estate Planning Awareness Week. From October 16-October 20, DG©M will offer the only free, online conference for playwrights, composers, lyricists, and librettists that explores the importance of Estate and Legacy Planning. To reserve a spot for these National Estate and Legacy Planning Week events, which are being offered to the public at no cost, please visit www.thedgcm....
Member Newsroom

Calling All Students! Register for The Artist as CEO: Student Theatre Writers Workshop on October 7 and 8

Are you a student interested in writing for the theatre? Are you a higher education professor with a strong interest in the foundational concepts of working as a writer in today’s theatre market?  Join us for Artist as CEO: A Free Professional Development Intensive for Student Theatre Writers and discover what it takes to be a professional writer for the stage!  Saturday, October 7 and Sunday, October 8 This program is completely free of cost to all participants...