Arianna Rose
DGPD logo
Writing the Ten-Minute Play
$500

Class Info


This class is currently full. If you would like to register, please fill join the waitlist.


Instructors: Arianna Rose
Class Date: Thursdays, 1pm - 4pm Eastern; March 14 - May 16
Maximum Students: 10

AST: 2pm-5pm
EST: 1pm-4pm 
CST: 12pm-3pm
MST: 11am-2pm 
PST: 10am-1pm
AKST: 9am-12pm
HST: 8am-11am

 

Class Summary


Ten-minute plays.  Do those words frighten, frustrate, or inspire you? 

Short-play festivals are abundantly popular around the world. While short-form plays share some similarities with full-length storytelling, the dramatists who excel in this form have learned how to write into the differences. I can help you join their ranks.  

This ten-session course is a combination of lecture, reading, discussion, and most importantly, in-class sharing of your work for feedback.   Our class community will serve you long after the final zoom.  Whether you’re a new or seasoned dramatist, Writing The Ten-Minute Play will assist you in your craft.  Topics include the elements of a successful 10-minute play, generating ideas, tools for success, giving and receiving constructive feedback, effective rewrites, formatting your play, submissions, and log-keeping.

There is nothing more thrilling than watching an audience respond to something YOU wrote. I’d love to help you achieve that goal, and give you the tools to write to the highest level of craft in this art form. 

 

Class Requirements


While there are no required textbooks, the following books on writing the ten-minute play are recommended - Writing the 10-minute Play by Glenn Alterman and A More Perfect Ten: Writing & Producing the Ten-Minute Play  by Gary Garrison.  Students should have some familiarity with basic playwriting.  Ability to complete assigned reading of one short play a week between sessions. 

 

Class Expectations


Full participation both in terms of sharing work and providing feedback. Respect and compassion for your fellow classmates, which means applying the Golden Rule to your feedback. 

 

Class Outcome


By the end of the ten weeks, you should leave with one to two new ten-minute plays and exercises/tools that you can apply to your future writings. 

 

  • Refunds

    The Dramatists Guild does not provide refunds; however, it is possible to receive credit towards a future course instead. Please email dginstitute@dramatistsguild.com for more information.

    Unfortunately, DG is unable to offer financial aid at this time.

  • Financial Aid

    Unfortunately, at this time financial aid is not available.

  • Instructors and Community

    The faculty at the Dramatists Guild is comprised of some of the country’s leading playwrights, songwriters, educators, and industry professionals. Please be aware that instructors are subject to change prior to the start of the semester. In the unlikely event that such a change does occur, all DG students will be notified as soon as possible.

    The Dramatists Guild endeavors to create a safe space in which all students feel encouraged to participate as freely and confidently as possible. Although we generally try to group students by skill level, writers from a variety of backgrounds will inevitably be in class together. Students are expected to be inclusive, communicative, and welcoming to one another, regardless of previous writing experience.

    All students should arrive on time to class, disengage from electronic media (other than the Zoom platform upon which the class is taking place), and remain present for the entire class period. Please note that the Guild is unable to record any courses. If you are unable to attend a class, it is your responsibility to contact your instructor, in advance of your planned absence, in order to coordinate a sufficient make-up strategy.

  • Class Sizes

    Unless otherwise noted, all foundation classes have a maximum of 14-15 students and all writing workshops (including specialty writing workshops) have a maximum of 10 students. 

    The number of students in each course is limited in order to ensure that every participant has a meaningful classroom experience.

  • Contact Us

    Feel free to email us at dginstitute@dramatistsguild.com, or call the Guild office at (212) 398-9366.