Mathew Paul Olmos
DGPD logo
Getting Started: Fine-tuning Your First Draft
$500

Class Info


This class is currently full. If you would like to register, please fill join the waitlist.


Instructors: Matthew Paul Olmos
Class Date: Mondays, 7-10pm Eastern, March 11 - May 13
Maximum Students: 8

AST: 8pm-11pm
EST: 7pm-10pm 
CST: 6pm-9pm
MST: 5pm-8pm 
PST: 4pm-7pm
AKST: 3pm-6pm
HST: 2pm-5pm

 

Class Summary

From the genesis of an idea, through the conception of character and structure, to focusing on the conflict, this class will offer constructive feedback, deadlines, support and community to get through that first draft of your new play.

 

Class Requirements


  • The prior completion of two full-length plays or three one-acts OR the equivalent amount of writing in another genre (i.e. screenwriting, television writing, novels, journalism);
  • The prior completion of an introductory dramatic writing course, either with the DGI or elsewhere (please specify the name of institution and course(s) taken).

 

Class Expectations


  • Respect and compassion for your fellow classmates, which means applying the Golden Rule to your feedback. Before commenting on someone's play, please ask yourself how you would feel to receive the feedback you are about to give.
  • Full participation both in terms of sharing work and providing feedback.

 

Class Outcome 


You will have a draft which has been discussed and read aloud from colleagues and your instructor. You will have been given notes from the instructor on the project as a whole, as well within individual scenes.

  • Refunds

    The Dramatists Guild does not provide refunds; however, it is possible to receive credit towards a future course instead. Please email dginstitute@dramatistsguild.com for more information.

    Unfortunately, DG is unable to offer financial aid at this time.

  • Financial Aid

    Unfortunately, at this time financial aid is not available.

  • Instructors and Community

    The faculty at the Dramatists Guild is comprised of some of the country’s leading playwrights, songwriters, educators, and industry professionals. Please be aware that instructors are subject to change prior to the start of the semester. In the unlikely event that such a change does occur, all DG students will be notified as soon as possible.

    The Dramatists Guild endeavors to create a safe space in which all students feel encouraged to participate as freely and confidently as possible. Although we generally try to group students by skill level, writers from a variety of backgrounds will inevitably be in class together. Students are expected to be inclusive, communicative, and welcoming to one another, regardless of previous writing experience.

    All students should arrive on time to class, disengage from electronic media (other than the Zoom platform upon which the class is taking place), and remain present for the entire class period. Please note that the Guild is unable to record any courses. If you are unable to attend a class, it is your responsibility to contact your instructor, in advance of your planned absence, in order to coordinate a sufficient make-up strategy.

  • Class Sizes

    Unless otherwise noted, all foundation classes have a maximum of 14-15 students and all writing workshops (including specialty writing workshops) have a maximum of 10 students. 

    The number of students in each course is limited in order to ensure that every participant has a meaningful classroom experience.

  • Contact Us

    Feel free to email us at dginstitute@dramatistsguild.com, or call the Guild office at (212) 398-9366.