Andrew Black
DGPD logo
The Art of Teaching Playwriting: Empowering Instructors for Student Success
$350

Class Info


Instructors: Andrew Black
Class Date: Sundays, 7-9pm Eastern; March 24 - June 2 (PLEASE NOTE START AND END DATE; also, no class May 26)
Maximum Students: 10

AST: 8pm-10pm
EST: 7pm-9pm 
CST: 6pm-8pm
MST: 5pm-7pm 
PST: 4pm-6pm
AKST: 3pm-5pm
HST: 2pm-4pm

 

Class Summary


The Art of Teaching Playwriting: Empowering Instructors for Student Success is an interactive class designed to augment and strengthen your skillset as an instructor in a playwriting classroom. Andrew Black, PhD, a playwright with over ten years of teaching experience, will facilitate a learning experience in which you will learn several ways of presenting material related to playwriting technique that will support your student playwrights in learning how plays are crafted.

Participants will explore and practice three signature pedagogies, typically used to teach playwriting, learning through demonstration, practice and discussion with peers.  The pedagogies are:

•        Leading and debriefing a writing exercise;

•        Teaching a play written by a master playwright (mentor text); and

•        Facilitating a workshop and critique session for student pages

The focus will emphasize how to use these teaching practices with newbies and/or people with diverse backgrounds and experiences who may not have a lot of experience with playmaking.

 

Class Requirements


The class is designed for anyone who serves as a playwriting teacher or workshop leader, or who anticipates they will be in the near future.  The learning process will ask participants to bring in exercises they use in their classrooms, present them to peers, and be willing to participate in a debrief of their own and others’ practices.

 

Class Expectations


Participants will-

•        Elevate their playwriting instructional skills to a new level of effectiveness;

•        Share best practices and learn others’ best practices along with new techniques;

•        Learn how to structure and tailor a class or workshop for maximum value to the learners;

•        Learn how to create a safe space for student playwrights with diverse backgrounds who wish to learn the craft.

 

Class Outcome


You will emerge from the experience with a “re-imagined” sense of how to help others to find their voice in a playwriting class or workshop.  You will:

•        Understand the variety of strategies for presenting playwriting content in a classroom

•        Be able to describe some best practices for using these strategies

•        Use new tools in your own classes and have had the chance to share your own tools with others.

  • Refunds

    The Dramatists Guild does not provide refunds; however, it is possible to receive credit towards a future course instead. Please email dginstitute@dramatistsguild.com for more information.

    Unfortunately, DG is unable to offer financial aid at this time.

  • Financial Aid

    Unfortunately, at this time financial aid is not available.

  • Instructors and Community

    The faculty at the Dramatists Guild is comprised of some of the country’s leading playwrights, songwriters, educators, and industry professionals. Please be aware that instructors are subject to change prior to the start of the semester. In the unlikely event that such a change does occur, all DG students will be notified as soon as possible.

    The Dramatists Guild endeavors to create a safe space in which all students feel encouraged to participate as freely and confidently as possible. Although we generally try to group students by skill level, writers from a variety of backgrounds will inevitably be in class together. Students are expected to be inclusive, communicative, and welcoming to one another, regardless of previous writing experience.

    All students should arrive on time to class, disengage from electronic media (other than the Zoom platform upon which the class is taking place), and remain present for the entire class period. Please note that the Guild is unable to record any courses. If you are unable to attend a class, it is your responsibility to contact your instructor, in advance of your planned absence, in order to coordinate a sufficient make-up strategy.

  • Class Sizes

    Unless otherwise noted, all foundation classes have a maximum of 14-15 students and all writing workshops (including specialty writing workshops) have a maximum of 10 students. 

    The number of students in each course is limited in order to ensure that every participant has a meaningful classroom experience.

  • Contact Us

    Feel free to email us at dginstitute@dramatistsguild.com, or call the Guild office at (212) 398-9366.