Paula Vogul

The Dramatists Guild of America Council has selected Paula Vogel as the recipient of the 2016 Hull-Warriner Award, for her play Indecent. The other finalists for the award were Itamar Moses and David Yazbek for The Band’s Visit; Steven Levenson, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul for Dear Evan Hansen; J.T. Rogers for Oslo; George C. Wolfe for Shuffle Along, or the Making of the Musical Sensation of 1921 and All That Followed; and Lynn Nottage for Sweat. This is Paula Vogel’s second Hull-Warriner Award – her first was for the Pulitzer Prize-winning How I Learned to Drive in 1997.

The Hull-Warriner Award is the only award given by playwrights to playwrights, and is presented annually to an American author or authors selected by the Dramatists Guild of America Council honoring a work or works dealing with social, political or religious mores of the time. The award will be presented to Paula Vogel at a Guild celebration in October.

“We are thrilled to present the Hull-Warriner Award to Paula Vogel and her stirring and brilliant work, Indecent. The award is a testament to her power and is a celebration of her gifts by some of her biggest supporters - fellow artists, craftsmen, and colleagues,” said Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, DG Council member and Awards Committee chair.

Elizabeth Hull, a playwright and former production associate of the Theatre Guild and the Federal Theatre, established the award through her will. Kate Warriner, an actress, was a long-time friend and associate of Ms. Hull. The award has been given since 1971.

Past Hull-Warriner winners include Stephen Adly Guirgis, Edward Albee, David Auburn, Annie Baker, Philip Hayes Dean, Christopher Durang, Margaret Edson, Harvey Fierstein, John Guare, Adam Guettel & Craig Lucas, David Ives, John Kander & David Thompson, Stephen Karam, Larry Kramer, Tony Kushner, Shirley Lauro, John Leguizamo, Tracy Letts, David Mamet, Emily Mann, Donald Margulies, Terrence McNally, Scott McPherson, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Marsha Norman, Bruce Norris, Lynn Nottage, Dael Orlandersmith, Miguel Pinero, David Rabe, Ronald Ribman, Steven Sater & Duncan Sheik, John Patrick Shanley, Martin Sherman, Stephen Sondheim & Hugh Wheeler, Joseph A. Walker, Wendy Wasserstein, August Wilson, George C. Wolfe and Doug Wright.

From The Dramatists Guild


Member Newsroom