Related Dramatist(s)
Related Organization(s)

The Dramatists Guild of America is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2020 Lanford Wilson Award is MADHURI SHEKAR. The award will be presented at the Guild’s annual awards ceremony on Monday, July 27, 2020, at Joe’s Pub in New York.

The Lanford Wilson Award is named after the Pulitzer Prize-winning, Tony-nominated playwright—and longtime Dramatists Guild Council member—who passed away in 2011. The award was established by a generous contribution from Wilson’s estate, and a matching contribution from the Guild; it is presented annually by the Dramatists Guild Council to a dramatist based primarily on their work as an early career playwright. Previous recipients are Francine Volpe, Michael Lew, Chisa Hutchinson, Lauren Gunderson, Christopher Chen, Martyna Majok, Isaac Gomez, R. Eric Thomas, Abe Koogler, and Charly Evon Simpson.

Madhuri Shekar’s plays include In Love and Warcraft, A Nice Indian Boy, Queen, House of Joy, and Dhaba on Devon Avenue. Her audio play Evil Eye was named one of the top 10 Audible titles of 2019. She is a graduate of the Juilliard playwriting program and a fellow at New Dramatists. 


Member Newsroom