How To Resolve Copyright Disputes: A Q&A on the new Copyright Claims Board and The CASE Act
Apr 25, 2022
How To Resolve Copyright Disputes: A Q&A on the new Copyright Claims Board and The CASE Act

Discover how to bring your copyright claims to the new Copyright Claims Board, established by The CASE Act! 

Wednesday, May 18

Atlantic Time: 2pm
Eastern Time: 1pm
Central Time: 12pm
Mountain Time: 11am
Pacific Time: 10am

In 2020, Congress passed the Copyright Alternative in Small-Claims Enforcement Act, otherwise known as the CASE Act. It established a small claims court-type tribunal within the U.S. Copyright Office - known as the Copyright Claims Board (“CCB”)- which allow copyright owners, like you, to bring claims for copyright infringement, as well as requests for declaratory judgment, in fair use cases in a more cost efficient way. The CCB is set to launch this spring, and it is sure to be a game changer for copyright owners who want to assert their copyright interests but who do not have the means to bring their cases to a federal court.

Please join Copyright Claims Board attorneys Maya Burchette and Dan Booth for an in-depth exploration of the CASE Act and the Copyright Claims Board. At this online event, Maya and Dan will share a 15-20 minute presentation about the CCB, and what it does, and how it works. The presentation will be followed by a 30-minute Q&A, moderated by DG Director of Business Affairs Jessica Lit.

Don't miss this opportunity to learn the ins and outs of how the Copyright Claims Board will work- prior to its launch- so that you can start bringing your copyright claims right away!

This event is sponsored by the Dramatists Legal Defense Fund.

Maya Burchette is a Copyright Claims Attorney at the Copyright Office, where she is currently assisting in implementing the Copyright Alternative in Small-Claims Enforcement ("CASE") Act of 2020. She joins the Copyright Claims Board after spending three years as a Copyright Examiner in the Visual Arts Department. Prior to joining the Copyright Office in 2018, Maya worked as an associate at a boutique law firm in Washington, DC. She earned her JD from Tulane University School of Law and her BS from Howard University. In her free time, Maya enjoys roller skating and making homemade pasta.

Dan Booth is a Copyright Claims Attorney at the Copyright Office. He joined the Board in 2022 after 16 years in private practice at Dan Booth Law LLC and Booth Sweet LLP, boutique copyright law firms that he founded, and as a litigation associate at Goodwin Procter LLP in Boston and Hughes Hubbard & Reed LLP in New York. He is a graduate of Columbia Law School and Hampshire College.


Member Newsroom