• Career Training
  • Know Your Rights
  • Contracts Coaching
  • Copyright Clinic
Body


This month, join us for three career training webinars that will inform and empower you in your career as a dramatist. Find out how to register and manage your copyright with Deborah Murad, participate in a contract coaching seminar with Ralph Sevush, and make sure that you are aware of your rights as a dramatist. Discover more below!

 

Do You Know Your Rights?: An Introduction to the Dramatists Bill of Rights
Tuesday, February 22 (Open to all writers)


Atlantic Time: 7:30pm – 9:30pm
Eastern Time: 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Central Time: 5:30pm – 7:30pm
Mountain Time: 4:30pm– 6:30pm
Pacific Time: 3:30pm – 5:30pm

This webinar is open ALL theatre writers. Please feel free to share information about the event with your fellow dramatists

Playwrights, composers, lyricists, and librettists often struggle professionally in theatres throughout the country, and even on Broadway, due to the wide-ranging demands and expectations that are imposed on them by their producers (and other collaborators), and are presented as “standard” terms. It is essential, therefore, that dramatists know the Dramatists Bill of Rights, which the Dramatists Guild established in 1926 and has defended ever since. 

To ensure this ownership and control over your work, the Guild recommends that any production that involves a dramatist incorporates a written agreement in which both the producer and the writer acknowledge certain key industry standards. 

During the webinar, we will walk through the key standards and open the room to questions.

 

Contract Coaching with Ralph Sevush
Tuesday, February 15 (Members only event)



Atlantic Time: 7:30pm – 9:30pm
Eastern Time: 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Central Time: 5:30pm – 7:30pm
Mountain Time: 4:30pm– 6:30pm
Pacific Time: 3:30pm – 5:30pm

Theatre contracts can be overwhelming. What key standards do they express? How should they be used? What happens if a theatre or producer pushes back? What do the terms in these contracts mean? How can you use your contract as a force for good? 

At our interactive Contract Coaching session, we'll work with a small group of dramatists to address their questions, discuss recent contract experiences, and offer ways for each writer to feel more comfortable in saying "yes" or "no" to specific deals.

The event will be conducted by Ralph Sevush, DG's Executive Director of Business Affairs, and moderated by Emmanuel Wilson, DG's Executive Director of Creative Affairs and Membership.

This event is a working session limited to 35 writers. When they register, each writer must submit one question about a contract, or about negotiating a contract. While we will attempt to answer every question that is submitted, the interactive nature of this event may prevent that outcome. This event is limited to a small group and is for Guild members only. Please do not sign up unless you can attend.
 

Copyright Clinic with Deborah Murad
Wednesday, February 16



Atlantic Time: 4pm – 5:30pm
Eastern Time: 3pm – 4:30pm
Central Time: 2pm – 3:30pm
Mountain Time: 1pm– 2:30pm
Pacific Time: 12pm – 1:30pm

How do you register and manage your copyright?

At this event, conducted by Deborah Murad, Executive Director of DG Copyright Management, you'll learn about:

  • The life cycle of copyright; 
  • How to register your work;
  • How the public domain works;
  • How to manage your intellectual property over its lifetime.

Member Newsroom