Six monochromatic headshots of six different dramatists
Top, l to r: Caridad Svich, Nancy Ford, Gretchen Cryer. Bottom, l to r: Jules Feiffer, Sanaz Toossi, Samuel D. Hunter.

We're proud to announce the first recipients of our 2023 Dramatists Guild Awards!

Samuel D. Hunter and Sanaz Toossi to Receive the Hull-Warriner Award

Caridad Svich to Receive the Flora Roberts Award

The Dramatists Guild Lifetime Achievement Awards Will Be Given to Jules Feiffer, Gretchen Cryer and Nancy Ford

Awards Ceremony Will Be Held on Monday, May 15 at Joe’s Pub

The Awards will be presented at Joe’s Pub on Monday, May 15. The ceremony is open to the public with limited tickets available. Click here to join the DG Awards mailing list and receive future updates.

The Hull-Warriner Award is the only award given by dramatists to dramatists. It is presented annually by the Dramatists Guild Council to an author or team of authors in recognition of their play dealing with controversial subjects involving the fields of political, religious, or social mores of the times. This year’s Hull-Warriner Award will go to two recipients: Samuel D. Hunter for A Case for the Existence of God and Sanaz Toossi for English.

The finalists for this year’s Hull-Warriner Award are Joshua Harmon for Prayer for the French Republic, James Ijames for Fat Ham, Mona Mansour for The Vagrant Trilogy, and Bruce Norris for Downstate.

The Flora Roberts Award, administered by the Dramatists Guild Foundation, is presented to a dramatist in recognition of distinguished work in the theatre and to encourage the continuation of that work. The recipient of this year’s award is Caridad Svich.

The Dramatists Guild Lifetime Achievement Award is presented by the Dramatists Guild Council in recognition of distinguished lifetime achievement in theatrical writing. Previous recipients include Edward Albee, Betty Comden & Adolph Green, Horton Foote, Micki Grant, John Guare, A.R. Gurney, Sheldon Harnick & Jerry Bock, Tina Howe, John Kander & Fred Ebb, Adrienne Kennedy, Terrence McNally, Arthur Miller, Neil Simon, Stephen Sondheim, Joseph Stein, Paula Vogel, August Wilson, and Lanford Wilson. Career Achievement Awards have also been presented to Marsha Norman and Stephen Schwartz.   

The Dramatists Guild will give two Lifetime Achievement Awards this year, to Jules Feiffer and to the writing team of Gretchen Cryer and Nancy Ford.

Recipients for the Dramatists Guild’s other awards, including The Horton Foote Award, The Frederick Loewe Award, the Dramatists Legal Defense Fund Defender Award, and The Lanford Wilson Award will be announced at awards night.

Member Newsroom