Michael R. Jackson
Michael R. Jackson
May 07, 2020
DG Council Member Michael R. Jackson Wins 2020 Pulitzer Prize

The Dramatists Guild congratulates DG Council member Michael R. Jackson, recpient of the 2020 Pulitzer Prize for Drama for his musical A Strange Loop. This is the first time, in the Pulitzers' over 100 year history, that the Prize for Drama has been given to a Black writer for a work of musical theatre. This is also the first time that an off-Broadway musical has won the award without transferring to Broadway first.

The Guild also extends congratulations to the Pulitzer Prize finalists, DG Council member David Henry Hwang and DG member Jeanine Tesori for their musical Soft Power, and DG member Will Arbery for his play Heroes of the Fourth Turning.

The 2020 Pulitzer Prizes were announced on Monday, May 4, 2020. A ceremonial luncheon will take place this coming fall.