Related Dramatist(s)
  • Heidi Schreck
    Jocelyn Bioh and Heidi Schreck winning the Hull-Warriner Award
  • Amy Herzog

The Dramatists Guild of America is proud to announce The Horton Foote Playwriting Award, sponsored by the Richenthal Foundation, will be presented to playwrights Heidi Schreck and Amy Herzog at the Dramatists Guild’s awards presentations in July. Each writer will receive a $12,500 prize, sponsored by the Richenthal Foundation.

Named after the late, Pulitzer Prize-winning and Tony-nominated playwright Horton Foote, the award celebrates a dramatist (or dramatists) “whose work seeks to plumb the ineffable nature of being human.” Previous recipients include Stephen Karam, Rajiv Joseph, and James Anthony Tyler.

Heidi Schreck's What the Constitution Means to Me is currently in previews at Broadway's Hayes Theatre, following an acclaimed Off-Broadway run; she is the recipient of two Obie Awards, a Drama Desk, and a Theatre World Award.

Amy Herzog’s play Mary Jane earned her a New York Drama Critics Circle Award and an Obie Award, while her 4000 Miles received the Obie for Best New American Play and was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize.

The Guild’s other awards, including the Hull-Warriner Award, the Frederick Loewe Award, and the Flora Roberts Award, will also be announced at a later date.



Member Newsroom