Related Dramatist(s)
Related Organization(s)
Heidi Schreck
Heidi Schreck Photo by Tess Mayer

The Hull-Warriner Award is the only award given by playwrights to playwrights and is presented annually to an American author or authors selected by the Dramatists Guild of America Council honoring a work or works dealing with social, political or religious mores of the time. 

The Dramatists Guild of America Council has selected Heidi Schreck as the recipient of the 2018 Hull-Warriner Award, for her play What the Constitution Means to Me.  The other finalists for the award were Aleshea Harris for Is God Is; Bruce Norris for The Low Road; Mike Lew for Teenage Dick; Dael Orlandersmith for Until the Flood; and Ming Peiffer for Usual Girls

The award will be presented to Heidi Schreck at the Guild's annual awards celebration in July.

Heidi Schreck is a playwright and screenwriter living in Brooklyn. Her most recent plays include What the Constitution Means to Me, which opened on Broadway at the Helen Hayes Theatre in March and was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize; Grand Concourse, which debuted at Playwrights Horizons and Steppenwolf Theatres in 2014-15. Screenwriting credits include “I Love Dick,” “Billions,” and “Nurse Jackie.” Heidi is the recipient of two Obie Awards, a Drama Desk, and the Theatre World Award.

Elizabeth Hull, a playwright and former production associate of the Theatre Guild and the Federal Theatre, established the award through her will.  Kate Warriner, an actress, was a long-time friend and associate of Ms. Hull.  The award has been given since 1971.

Past Hull-Warriner winners include Stephen Adly Guirgis, Edward Albee, David Auburn, Annie Baker, Jocelyn Bioh, Philip Hayes Dean, Christopher Durang, Margaret Edson, Harvey Fierstein, John Guare, Adam Guettel & Craig Lucas, David Ives, John Kander & David Thompson, Stephen Karam, Larry Kramer, Tony Kushner, Shirley Lauro, John Leguizamo, Tracy Letts, David Mamet, Emily Mann, Donald Margulies, Terrence McNally, Scott McPherson, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Marsha Norman, Bruce Norris, Lynn Nottage, Dael Orlandersmith, Miguel Pinero, David Rabe, Ronald Ribman, Steven Sater & Duncan Sheik, John Patrick Shanley, Martin Sherman, Stephen Sondheim & Hugh Wheeler, Paula Vogel, Joseph A. Walker, Wendy Wasserstein, August Wilson, George C. Wolfe, and Doug Wright.

Member Newsroom