2020 Obie Awards

DG members WILL ARBERY, (Heroes of the Fourth Turning) and MICHAEL R. JACKSON (A Strange Loop), received 2020 Obie Award for Playwriting along with Haruna Lee (Suicide Forest).

Special Citations were given to the creative team and ensembles of Heroes of the Fourth Turning (including WILL ARBERY) and A Strange Loop (including MICHAEL R. JACKSON and DG member RONA SIDDIQUI).

Additional Special Citations were given to Guild members DAVID CALE (We’re Only Alive For A Short Amount of Time), DAVE MALLOY, Or Matias, and Hidenori Nakajo (Octet). The Asian American Performers Action Coalition (including Council member CHRISTINE TOY JOHNSON) received a special citation on behalf of their advocacy in the field of equity, diversity, and inclusion. 

The 2020 Obie Awards took place, via a pre-recorded YouTube stream, on Tuesday, July 14. The award ceremony was originally supposed to take place this past May; the event was initially rescheduled due to the Coronavirus pandemic, and then again last month, out of respect for the Black Lives Matter protests.

The Obie awards celebrate excellence and innovation in off-Broadway theatre. Watch the full ceremony on YouTube.

Congratulations to all of the 2020 Obie Award winners!


Explore Dramatists Guild Awards

Member Newsroom