lucille lortel awards
Apr 15, 2020
2020 Lortel Award Nominations

The Guild congratulates all the nominees for the 2020 Lucille Lortel Awards!

Included in this year’s nominations for Outstanding Play are DG members STEPHEN ADLY GUIRGIS for Halfway Bitches Go Straight to Heaven and WILL ARBERY for Heroes of the Fourth Turning.

For Outstanding Musical, nominees include DG members MICHAEL R. JACKSON for A Strange Loop; DAVE MALLOY for Octet; DAVID HENRY HWANG and JEANINE TESORI for Soft Power; and LYNN NOTTAGE, DUNCAN SHEIK, and SUSAN BIRKENHEAD for The Secret Life of Bees.

For Outstanding Revival, nominees include DG members TONY KUSHNER for A Bright Room Called Day; NTOZAKE SHANGE for for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf; and ALAN MENKEN and Howard Ashman for Little Shop of Horrors.

For Outstanding Solo Show, nominees include DG members ISAAC GOMEZ for the way she spoke; DAVID CALE and Matthew Dean Marsh for We’re Only Alive for A Short Amount of Time; and DONNETTA LAVINIA GRAYS for Where We Stand.

This year’s winners will be announced in an online ceremony on May 3, 2020, presented by the Off-Broadway League and the Lucille Lortel Theatre Foundation.