Council Member, Dramatists Guild of America 

Marsha Norman has Grammy and Emmy nominations, as well as grants and awards from among others, the National Endowment for the Arts, the Rockefeller Foundation, and the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters.  She has won the Margo Jones Award, and the Sidney Kingsley Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Guild Hall Academy of Arts and Letters.  Ms. Norman is Co-Chair, with Christopher Durang, of the Playwriting Department of The Juilliard School. She writes and lectures frequently on the theatre and has 18 honorary degrees from American colleges and Universities. She was elected to membership in the Fellowship of Southern Writers and serves on the Governing Board of the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize.  She sat on the Board Trustees of Agnes Scott College from 2001 – 2011, and was the Chair of the Academic Affairs committee from 2008 –  2011.  She is a former Vice-President of the Dramatists Guild of America. She is a native of Kentucky and currently lives in New York.