Treasurer, Dramatists Guild of America

Julia is the recipient of the Kleban Award, the Francesca Primus Prize, Jonathan Larson Award, Heideman Award, LeComte Nouy Award, ATT Onstage Award and the American Spirit Award.  She has been shortlisted three times for the Susan Smith Blackburn Award. She  is a Lucille Lortel Fellow, Juilliard Playwright Fellow, Manhattan Theatre Club Fellow, MacDowell Colony fellow.  A member of New Dramatists and the Dramatists Guild Council, she is also one of the founders of the Lilly Awards for Women in Theater. She holds an M. Phil. in Creative Writing from Trinity College, Dublin  and has taught playwriting at Primary Stages and at Barnard College, Columbia University.