The Dramatists Guild presents awards annually which highlight and celebrate authors and colleagues working in the industry. Below is a description and list of some of the previous winners of each award the Guild presents. All awards are overseen by the DG Awards Committee, chaired by Lloyd Suh and administered by Tari Stratton.



The Dramatists Guild Lifetime Achievement Award

Presented by the Dramatists Guild Council in recognition of lifetime achievement in theatrical writings. (*In 2016, the Dramatists Guild Lifetime Achievement Award was called the Career Achievement Award)


2022 Pearl Cleage, Tina Howe

2021 Adrienne Kennedy

2016Stephen Schwartz, Marsha Norman*

2015 A.R. Gurney

2014 John Guare

2013 Micki Grant

2011 Paula Vogel

2010 Sheldon Harnick and Jerry Bock, Terrence McNally

2009 Lanford Wilson

2008 Joseph Stein

2007 Horton Foote

2006 August Wilson

2005 Stephen Sondheim

2004John Kander & Fred Ebb

2003Neil Simon

2002 Betty Comden & Adolph Green

2001 Edward Albee

2000 Arthur Miller






The dldf Defender Award

Recognizes an individual or group’s efforts in support of free expression in the dramatic arts.


2022 Alice Childress

2021 Sharai Bohannon

2019 Svetlana Mintcheva, National Coalition Against Censorship

2018 Sawyer Garrity, Andrea Pena

2017 Company of Hamilton

2016 Edward Davis, Esq.

2015 Howard Sherman

2014 Larissa Mark






The Flora Roberts Award

Administered by the Dramatists Guild Foundation, presented to a theatre professional in recognition of distinguished work in the theatre and to encourage the continuation of that work.


2022 Kirsten Childs

2021 William S. Yellow Robe, Jr.

2020 Kia Corthron

2019 Martha Clarke

2018 Charles Busch

2017 Mac Wellman

2016 Dael Orlandersmith

2015 Charles Fuller

2014 Arthur Kopit

2012 Philip Kan Gotanda

2011 Christopher Durang

2010 Michael Weller

2009 Polly Pen

2008 Craig Lucas

2007 Ed Bullins

2006 Robert Waldman

2005 Michael John LaChiusa

2004 William Finn

2003 Jonathan Reynolds

2002 Neal Bell

2001 Adrienne Kennedy

2000 Tina Howe






The Frederick Loewe Award

Given by the Frederick Loewe Foundation and presented annually by the Dramatists Guild Council to a composer recognizing achievement in a theatrical score presented in the previous theatrical season.


2022 Jeanine Tesori
Kimberly Akimbo

2021 No Writer Awarded
No Musical Awarded

2020 Michael R. Jackson
A Strange Loop

2019 Matthew Sklar
The Prom

2018 Kirsten Childs
Bella: An American Tall Tale

2017 David Yazbek
The Band's Visit

2016 Benj Pasek & Justin Paul
Dear Evan Hansen

2015 Lin-Manuel Miranda

2014 Jeanine Tesori
Fun Home

2013 Trey Anastasio, Amanda Green
Hands on a Hard Body

  Alan Menken

2012 Michael John LaChiusa
Queen of the Mist

2011 Robert Lopez, Matt Stone, Trey Parker
The Book of Mormon

2010 John Kander
The Scottsboro Boys

2009 Tom Kitt
Next to Normal

2008 Lin-Manuel Miranda
In the Heights

2007 Scott Frankel
Grey Gardens

2006 Harvey Schmidt

2005 Charles Strouse

2004 Jerry Bock

2003 Jerry Herman

2002 Cy Coleman

2001 John Kander

2000 Stephen Sondheim






The Horton Foote Award

Presented to a dramatist whose work seeks to plumb the ineffable nature of being human.


2022 Sanaz Toossi

2021 Carla Ching, Kia Corthron, Aleshea Harris, Donja R. Love, Mfoniso Udofia

2020 Lydia Diamond

2019 Amy Herzog, Heidi Schreck

2018 James Anthony Tyler
(Finalist: Fernanda Coppel)

2017 Rajiv Joseph
(Finalists: Clare Barron, Cori Thomas)

2016 Stephen Karam






The Hull-Warriner Award

The only award given by dramatists for dramatists. Presented annually by the Dramatists Guild Council to an author or team of authors in recognition of their play or musical dealing with controversial subjects involving the fields of political, religious or social mores of the times.


2022 Martyna Majok
Sanctuary City

2021 No Writer Awarded
No Play Awarded

2020 No Writer Awarded
No Play Awarded

2019 Michael R. Jackson
A Strange Loop

2018 Heidi Schreck
What the Constitution Means to Me

2017 Jocelyn Bioh
School Girls, or the African Mean Girls Play

2016 Paula Vogel

2015 Lin-Manuel Miranda

2014 Stephen Adly Guirgis
Between Riverside and Crazy

2013 Annie Baker
The Flick

2012 Christopher Durang
Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike

2011 Stephen Karam
Sons of the Prophet

  John Kander & David Thompson
The Scottsboro Boys

2010 Bruce Norris
Clybourne Park

2009 Lynn Nottage

2008 David Ives
New Jerusalem

2007 Tracy Letts
August: Osage County

2006 Steven Sater & Duncan Sheik
Spring Awakening

2005 Adam Guettel & Craig Lucas
The Light in the Piazza

2004 John Patrick Shanley

2003 Doug Wright
I Am My Own Wife

2002 Dael Orlandersmith

2001 Tony Kushner

2000 David Auburn

1999 Donald Margulies
Dinner with Friends

1998 Margaret Edson

1997 Paula Vogel
How I Learned to Drive

1996 August Wilson
Seven Guitars

1995 Emily Mann
Having Our Say

1994 Edward Albee
Three Tall Women

1993 Tony Kushner
Angels in America

  Donald Margulies
Sight Unseen

  John Leguizamo

1992 Larry Kramer
The Destiny of Me

1991 Scott McPherson
Marvin’s Room

1990 John Guare
Six Degrees of Separation

1989 Terrence McNally
The Lisbon Traviata

1988 Wendy Wasserstein
The Heidi Chronicles

1987 Terrence McNally
Frankie & Johnnie in the Claire de Lune

1986 George C. Wolfe
The Colored Museum

1985 Christopher Durang
The Marriage of Bette and Boo

1984 David Mamet
Glengarry Glen Ross

1983 Marsha Norman
‘Night Mother

1982 Harvey Fierstein
Torch Song Trilogy

1981 Shirley Lauro
Open Admissions

1980 Martin Sherman

1979 Stephen Sondheim & Hugh Wheeler
Sweeney Todd

1978 John Guare
Landscape of the Body

1977 Ronald Ribman
Cold Storage

1976 Edward Albee

1975 Miguel Pinero
Short Eyes

1974 Terrence McNally
Bad Habits

1973 Joseph A. Walker
The River Niger

1972 Philip Hayes Dean
The Sty of the Blind Pig

1971 David Rabe
The Basic Training of Pavlo Hummel & Streamers





The Lanford Wilson Award

Established by the Estate of Lanford Wilson and presented by the Dramatists Guild Council to a dramatist based primarily on their work as an early career playwright.


2022 Nancy García Loza, Ren Dara Santiago

2021 Mariam Bazeed, Rhiana Yazzie

2020 Madhuri Shekar

2019 Abe Koogler, Charly Evon Simpson

2018 Isaac Gomez, R. Eric Thomas

2017 Christopher Chen, Martyna Majok

2016 Lauren Gunderson

2015 Chisa Hutchinson

2014 Michael Lew

2012 Francine Volpe