Business Affairs


The 2019 Dramatists Guild of America Council Election

We are happy to announce the results of this year’s Council Election. We would like to especially congratulate newly elected council member Michael R. Jackson. Each winner has crafted a biography and personal statement for your you to view below.

Click here to view your current council members.

Michael R. Jackson (Newly Elected) As a musical theatre writer who has managed to (barely) support himself through a series of grants, commissions, and awards for the last two years, I have faced nearly every challenge one can run into as a freelancer (rent instability, tax trouble…READ MORE

Rebecca Gilman (Elected Incumbent) It has been one of the greatest honors of my career to serve on the Council of the Dramatists Guild. I remain committed to doing all that I can to represent the needs and concerns of our members and to fight for the rights of playwrights, composers, and …READ MORE

Branden Jacobs-Jenkins (Elected Incumbent) Serving on the Dramatists Guild Council has been an honor and a highlight of my professional life. I remain committed to uprooting all forms of a playwright’s exploitation in (and beyond) the field and advocating for the fullest educating possible of…READ MORE 

Christine Toy Johnson (Elected Incumbent) It has been an incredible honor and privilege to serve on the Council and I’m very proud of the work I’ve been able to help get done so far including initiating and chairing the Guild’s first Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) committee. In this…READ MORE

Lisa Kron (Elected Incumbent) For over three decades I’ve worked across the broad spectrum of American theatre from tiny downtown performance spaces to Broadway to the Off-Broadway non-profits to educational theatre to dance-performance venues to the regionals, as a…READ MORE

Deborah Zoe Laufer (Elected Incumbent) The work I do for The Guild is one of the great joys of my playwriting life. I’ve been fortunate to serve on the publications committee for the past five years, and written and led panels for The Dramatist. I’ve been on the nominating committee, taught…READ MORE

Alan Menken (Elected Incumbent) I have been a strong supporter of The Dramatists Guild for the entirety of my career; going back over 35 years. And, if re-elected to the Dramatists Guild council, I will continue to use my voice and my influence even more actively in that capacity. We, as…READ MORE

Lin-Manuel Miranda (Elected Incumbent) Being an ambassador for the work of The Dramatists Guild as a council member, and in the world, is one of the great joys of my life, from talking to young playwrights about the various ways the Guild protects their work and their livelihood to…READ MORE

Lynn Nottage (Elected Incumbent) It has been a joy and honor to serve on The Dramatists Guild Council. As a writer and long-time educator, I remain deeply invested in nurturing and supporting playwrights at all stages of their careers and ensuring that our organization embraces the rich diversity…READ MORE

Lloyd Suh (Elected Incumbent) I am eager to continue serving on Council, and to continue lending my perspective to the Guild’s essential work in the field. As both a writer and an arts administrator, I have worked in support of hundreds of writers from across the country and around the world…READ MORE