header image Join
Untitled Document

Episode 4
Doug Wright & Terrence McNally

Dramatists Guild Council members Doug Wright and Terrence McNally reminisce about their experiences working with actors such as Geoffrey Rush, Zoe Caldwell and Nathan Lane, imparting their wisdom in actor-writer collaboration.

This session, originally recorded in 2007, is a learning tool for playwrights working with actors and offers actors insight to what a playwright may expect from them in the rehearsal process.

Extended Version Play Episode 4 



DOUG WRIGHT (born December 20, 1962)


Doug Wright is a Pulitzer Prize-winner and has received a Tony Award, Drama Desk Award, GLAAD Media Award, an Outer Critics Circle Award, a Drama League Award and a Lucille Lortel Award for I Am My Own Wife. His screen adaptation of Quills was named Best Picture by the National Board of Review and nominated for three Academy Awards. Doug was cited by the American Academy of Arts and Letters and awarded the Tolerance Prize from the Kulturforum Europa. Currently, he serves on the board of the New York Theatre Workshop and serves as Secretary on the Dramatists Guild Council.

Works include: Interrogating the Nude (1988), Quills (1995), Unwrap Your Candy (2001), I Am My Own Wife (2003), Grey Gardens (book) (2006), The Little Mermaid (book) (2007), The Pavilion (2009).

Upcoming: World premier of Hands on a Hard Body April 27 – June 17 at La Jolla Playhouse.

TERRENCE MCNALLY (born November 3, 1939)


Terrence McNally was awarded the Dramatists Guild Lifetime Achievement Award in 2011. He is a Tony Award-winner for his plays Love! Valour! Compassion!, Master Class and his books for the musicals Ragtime and Kiss of the Spider Woman. McNally received a Citation from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the New York Drama Critics Circle Award for Best New Play as well as four Drama Desk Awards, three Hull-Warriner Best Play Awards, two Obies, two Lortel Awards and two Guggenheim Fellowships. Mr. McNally has been a member of the Dramatists Guild since 1965 and served as its Vice-President from 1985 to 2001.

Works include: Sweet Eros (1968); Morning, Noon, and Night (1968); Botticelli (1969); Bad Habits (1974); The Ritz (1975); Frankie and Johnny in the Clair de Lune (1987); Prelude and Liebestod (1987); Lips Together, Teeth Apart (1991); Kiss of the Spider Woman, (book) (1992); A Perfect Ganesh (2993); Love! Valour! Compassion! (1994); Master Class (1995); Ragtime (book) (1998); The Full Monty (book) (2000); The Stendhal Syndrome (2004); Deuce (2007).