header image Join
Untitled Document

Episode 7
Tina Howe with Sarah Ruhl


The inimitable Tina Howe brings Sarah's unique style of poetic language, dynamic stage directions and wide range of mythical characters to discussion of Aristotle, Mac vs. PC, motherhood, weeping coins and working with invisible colleagues. The conversation between Howe and Ruhl taps into real struggles of finding time to write, getting started with a first draft and the extensive process of editing and revisions.

Extended Version Play Episode 7



TINA HOWE (born 1937)


Tina Howe has received an Obie for Distinguished Playwriting, an Outer Critics Circle Award, a Rockefeller grant, two NEA Fellowships, a Guggenheim Fellowship, the American Academy of Arts and Letters Award in Literature, the Dramatists Guild Fund Madge Evans/Sidney Kingsley Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Theatre, the New York Drama Critics' Circle Award, two honorary degrees and the William Inge Award for Distinguished Achievement in the American Theatre. Twice a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, Howe has been a visiting professor at Hunter College since 1990 and has also taught master classes at New York University, UCLA, Columbia University, and Carnegie Mellon University. Howe has served on the Council of the Dramatists Guild of America since 1990.

Works include: The Nest (1969); Birth and After Birth (1972); Museum (1976); The Art of Dining (1979); Painting Churches (1983); Coastal Disturbances (1986); Approaching Zanzibar (1989); One Shoe Off (1993); Pride's Crossing (1997); Such Small Hands (2003); Rembrandt's Gift (2002); new translations of Eugène Ionesco's The Bald Soprano (2004) and The Lesson (2004); and Chasing Manet (2009).


SARAH RUHL (born 1974)


Sarah Ruhl's plays have been produced across the country and internationally, translated into Polish, Russian, Spanish, Norwegian, Korean, German and Arabic. Originally from Chicago, Sarah received her MFA from Brown University, where she studied with Paula Vogel. She was the recipient of the Helen Merrill Emerging Playwrights Award, the Whiting Writers' Award, Susan Smith Blackburn Prize, Helen Hayes Award for Best New Play, nine NAACP Image Award nominations and was a Pulitzer Prize finalist. She is a member of 13P and New Dramatists and won the MacArthur Fellowship in 2006. She is a recent recipient of the PEN Center Award for a mid-career playwright.

Works include: Melancholy Play (2001); Eurydice (2003); Orlando (2003); Late: a cowboy song (2003); The Clean House(2004); Passion Play, a cycle (2003); Demeter in the City (2006); Dead Man's Cell Phone (2007); In The Next Room (or the vibrator play) (2009); and Stage Kiss (2011).